Cyrus removes Malta from safe travel list



Stricter entry requirements will apply to arrivals from Malta, starting December 9, as the country has been added to the high-risk category, following an increase in positive cases with COVID-19 .

According to the weekly risk assessment published by the Cypriot Ministry of the Interior, unvaccinated and unhealed travelers arriving from Malta are required to present a result of a PCR test carried out 72 hours before departure and undergo another test at their arrival, while being isolated until the test result is issued, reports

These measures apply to all countries of the red category, which currently consists of:

  • EU member states: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, France, Germany, Denmark, Estonia, Ireland, Spain, Italy, Croatia, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Hungary, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Sweden, Republic Czech, Finland
  • EU micro-states: Andorra, Monaco, Vatican City, San Marino
  • Schengen area : Switzerland, Iceland, Lichtenstein, Norway
  • Third country : Egypt, Armenia, Georgia, United States of America, United Kingdom, Jordan, Belarus, Lebanon, South Korea, Oman, Ukraine, Peru, Russia, Serbia

On the other hand, Orange Category arrivals must follow milder entry conditions, such as presenting a PCR test carried out 72 hours before reaching Cyprus. The Amber Box, which represents countries with possibly low risk but greater uncertainty compared to the Green Box, includes the following:

  • EU member states: Greece
  • Third country : Argentina, Australia, Japan, Israel, Canada, Qatar, China (including Hong Kong and Macao), Colombia, Namibia, New Zealand, Uruguay, Rwanda, Chile

Finally, the green box, whose arrivals are exempt from quarantine and testing requirements, does not currently include any EU member state. However, travelers from third countries authorized to enter Cyprus include the United Arab Emirates, Indonesia, Kuwait, Bahrain and Saudi Arabia.

In addition, in an effort to minimize the spread of Omicron, the new COVID-19 strain, Cypriot authorities have banned all travelers who, in the past 14 days, have stayed in or transited through South Africa, on Lesotho, Kingdom of Eswatini, Zimbabwe, Mozambique, Malawi and Botswana.

Although fully vaccinated, people who have been previously infected with COVID-19 and holders of an EU COVID-19 digital certificate can enter the country without being subjected to quarantine and entry testing requirements. . All arrivals are required to request the Cyprus Flight Pass 48 hours prior to departure.

According to data from the World Health Organization (WHO), 3,558 positive cases and seven deaths caused by COVID-19 have been reported in Cyprus in the past seven days. In conclusion, 136,832 cases of infection and 601 deaths have been recorded in the country since the pandemic struck.

The relatively low infection rates in the country are the result of the vaccination campaign, as the country has a high vaccination rate; 70.2% of the population is partially vaccinated and 67.7% is fully immune to the virus, which is around 1.3% more than the average of the fully vaccinated EU / EEA population. In addition, 14.5% of the Cypriot population received the third injection of the COVID vaccine.

Source link


About Author

Comments are closed.