EXCLUSIVE: How Amaechi and Omicron Saved the Jamboree from the N500m IMO Council Elections in Nigeria

Rotimi Amaechi

Facts have emerged about how Transport Minister Rotimi Amaechi prevented 43 officials from the Federal Ministry of Transport and the Nigerian Maritime Administration and Safety Agency (NIMASA) from embarking on a trip to London to attend the 32nd General Assembly of the International Maritime Organization (IMO).

Usually, authoritative sources in the Federal Ministry of Transport have stated SHIPS AND PORTS that NIMASA would have spent 500 million naira on flights, hotel accommodation, logistics and berths for the 43 delegates.

The highlight of the General Assembly was the election of 40 IMO member states to the IMO Council, which Nigeria contested and lost.

One of the informed sources SHIPS AND PORTS that the minister rejected the list of 43 delegates, which he would have considered cumbersome.

The minister, according to the source, reduced the number of delegates to 15 “but God willing, the UK imposed travel restrictions on Nigeria because of the omicron variant and no one could travel.”

He said the UK’s travel ban on Nigeria prevented the 15 approved delegates from embarking on the trip, “saving Nigeria a lot of money.”

“Their presence at the General Assembly will have no impact on the outcome of the election. Nigeria would still have lost the elections anyway, so it’s a good thing they didn’t travel, ”said the source, who didn’t want his name printed as it hadn’t been. authorized to speak to journalists on this matter.

SHIPS AND PORTS reported exclusively over the weekend that Nigeria, for the fifth time in a row, lost its candidacy for election to the 40-member IMO council. Nigeria came in 22nd place among the 27 countries that competed in Category C for the IMO Council. Only the top 20 countries are usually elected in the category while another 10 countries are elected to the board in category A and another 10 in category B.

The 40-member council was elected from three categories – A, B and C.

Category A elected officials are China, Greece, Italy, Japan, Norway, Panama, Republic of Korea, Russian Federation, United Kingdom and United States.

The 10 countries elected as Category B board members are Australia, Brazil, Canada, France, Germany, India, the Netherlands, Spain, Sweden and the Arab Emirates United. The only country that lost its Category C election was Argentina, which lost its council seat to Sweden.

The 20 countries elected in category C are the Bahamas, Belgium, Chile, Cyprus, Denmark, Egypt, Indonesia, Jamaica, Kenya, Malaysia, Malta, Mexico, Morocco, the Philippines , Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, Thailand, Turkey and Vanuatu. The seven countries which lost the elections in this category are South Africa, Nigeria, Peru, Bangladesh, Poland, Pakistan and Colombia.

Copyright Ships & Ports Ltd. Permission to use quotes from this article is granted subject to appropriate credit given to www.shipsandports.com.ng as the source.


About Author

Comments are closed.