Latvia to filter arrivals from 20 EU and third countries due to Omicron variant


Travelers from a total of 20 countries will be subject to the screening process when planning their trip to Latvia, the country’s foreign ministry said.

According to the ministry’s announcement, all people wishing to enter Latvia from the following territories will be selected: Germany, Sweden, Egypt, United Kingdom, Poland, Norway, Italy, Lithuania, Finland, Hungary, Estonia, Spain, Netherlands Lower, Russia, Ireland, Denmark, Georgia, Malta, Ukraine and Switzerland.

The ministry announced that such a decision has been taken following an increase in the number of Omicron variants of COVID-19, as authorities in the Baltic country try to keep the epidemiological situation under control.

“All passengers screened, including those who hold a valid vaccination, recovery or DCC test, or a negative result of a COVID-19 test taken before the flight to Riga, will be subjected to a COVID-19 test (PCR ). Exemptions include transit passengers, children under 12, air crews, seafarers, those related to diplomatic and international affairs ”, reads the statement issued by the Latvian Foreign Ministry.

However, Latvian authorities have announced that the list will be updated, taking into account the coronavirus situation in other countries, reports

More than 261,900 people have contracted the coronavirus in Latvia since the start of the pandemic, while 4,375 people have died, according to data provided by the World Health Organization (WHO).

Figures provided by the WHO also show that in the past seven days, Latvia has identified 4,615 cases of COVID-19 infection and 108 deaths.

In addition, Latvian authorities have announced that the country has registered 12 cases of the Omicron strain; therefore, the government of the country is imposing additional preventive measures in order to deal with the current situation.

In this regard, last month the Latvian authorities announced that those who visited Lesotho, South Africa, Botswana, Mozambique, Zimbabwe, Swatini and Malawi in the past ten days would be banned from entering Latvia.

However, the authorities confirmed that the restrictions would not apply to Latvian citizens and long-term residents of the European Union with a residence permit in Latvia.

Latvians, as well as permanent residents of countries of the European Union who have resided in one of the territories mentioned above during the last ten days, are required to:

  • Show negative coronavirus test result no more than 72 hours before entering Latvia
  • Perform a COVID RNA test, at the latest within 24 hours of arriving in Latvia and within eight days of entering Latvia
  • Follow the mandatory ten-day quarantine requirement after leaving any of the countries mentioned above

“If a person who entered Latvia from one of the above-mentioned countries did not observe self-isolation in the tourist accommodation place, the members of the household who came into contact with the person are required to self-isolate at home, hotel or tourist accommodation for ten days, the statement reads.

In addition, authorities have also announced that all people traveling to Latvia will be required to complete the electronic form and provide all required information regarding vaccination, testing or recovery from COVID-19.


About Author

Comments are closed.