Rock & Kciuk to headline business card winners as 2022 Q schools wrap up


Northern Irish newcomer Josh Rock and Poland’s Krzysztof Kciuk headlined players to get PDC tour cards as the PDC 2022 qualifying schools ended on Saturday – as Ted Evetts and Rowby-John Rodriguez took also regained their professional status.

After seven days of action at the Marshall Arena in Milton Keynes and the H+ Hotel in Niedernhausen, the group of 128 PDC Tour cardholders for 2022 has been finalized following the conclusion of the final stage.

In the UK, Rock, 20 (Photo) made his PDC ProTour debut this year beating fellow Northern Irishman Nathan Rafferty 6-3 in the day four final.

Rafferty, a World Junior Championship runner-up last year, was one of 13 other players to earn their PDC Tour Order of Merit card from the British qualifying school after the four-day final stage.

Reigning junior world champion Evetts returned to pro status by advancing to Saturday’s semi-finals, having collected eight points in four days.

Scotsman Jamie Clark topped the UK Order of Merit with ten points to win his PDC Tour card for the first time, while 2010 Grand Slam of Darts winner Scott Waites joined fellow former Lakeside champion Richie Burnett with seven points, alongside Connor Scutt and Kevin Burnett.

Mickey Mansell also picked up his circuit card immediately by earning six runs alongside Rafferty, Cameron Menzies, John O’Shea, George Killington and Nick Fullwell.

Crewe newcomer Shaun Wilkinson edged Lee Budgen, Matthew Dennant and Dan Read by five points to secure his circuit card and debut on the PDC circuit for the next two years.

Matthew Edgar’s run to the semi-finals on Saturday was not enough for him to immediately reclaim his circuit card, as he joined Brazilian number one Diogo Portela and former youth world champion Arron Monk on four points .

Lisa Ashton bungled her bid to win back a PDC Tour card, having spent 2020/21 on the PDC ProTour, while a second-round loss to Fallon Sherrock to Nathan Treadgold ended the Nordic Darts Masters runner-up’s chances of winning. get a Tower card. This year.

At the European Qualifying School in Germany, Kciuk earned an immediate return to the PDC circuit after picking up his Tour Card on the final day – Rodriguez dramatically securing his own professional status.

Poland’s Kciuk, 41, was one of the players who returned to qualifying school after losing their Tour Card at the end of 2021.

And the World Cup representative won day four of Saturday’s finals to claim an automatic circuit card, beating Spaniard Tony Martinez 6-3 in the final in Niedernhausen.

Kciuk is joined by 11 other Order of Merit players from European qualifying schools, who earned their tour cards after four days of finals action.

Belgian Mario Vandenbogaerde topped the standings with 12 points, while Jules van Dongen and Kevin Doets picked up eight points to secure their Tour Card.

Martinez was joined on seven points by Danny Jansen and Radek Szaganski, while Damian Mol, Jimmy Hendriks, Ricardo Pietreczko and Vladimir Andersen earned a Tour Card with six points.

Rodriguez – who finished 2021 in 65th place on the PDC’s Order of Merit – was one of seven players on five points, but had a bigger leg difference to his rivals, and the Austrian star got his card back. circuit in a spectacular way.

The 2021 World Cup runner-up had lost to Hendriks in the last 64 and faced an anxious wait, with Dragutin Horvat capable of leapfrogging him should he reach the final.

Horvat led 5-4 in his semi-final against Martinez, but blew his chance for victory on the tenth leg before the Spanish ace won the deciding match by 12 darts, ensuring Rodriguez a circuit board.

Fabian Schmutzler’s run to the last eight on day four was not enough to earn a circuit card for the German teenager, while Karel Sedlacek, Jelle Klaasen, Cristo Reyes, Jesus Noguera and Derk Telnekes were among the players who failed to secure an immediate return to the PDC ProTour in Niedernhausen.

The 32 Tour Card winners from 2022 PDC qualifying schools will join 96 other players as PDC professionals in 2022.

The top 64 on the PDC Order of Merit after the World Darts Championship have earned their tour cards, with another 28 players starting the second year of their tour card and four players exiting the challenge and development tours of the PDC.

PDC Qualifying Schools 2022
UK Q School Automatic Tour Map Winners (x4):
James Wilson, Darren Webster, Ross Montgomery, Josh Rock
European Q School Automatic Tour Card Winners (x4): Jose Justicia, Brian Raman, Luc Peters, Krzysztof Kciuk
UK Q School Tour Card Winners of the Order of Merit (x13): Jamie Clark, Ted Evetts, Connor Scutt, Richie Burnett, Kevin Burness, Scott Waites, Nathan Rafferty, Cameron Menzies, John O’Shea, George Killington, Mickey Mansell, Nick Fullwell, Shaun Wilkinson.
Winners of the European Q School Tour Card of the Order of Merit (x11): Mario Vandenbogaerde, Jules van Dongen, Kevin Doets, Tony Martinez, Danny Jansen, Radek Szaganski, Damian Mol, Jimmy Hendriks, Ricardo Pietreczko, Vladimir Andersen, Rowby-John Rodriguez.

Click here to view the Q School Orders of Merit

Click here for stats from Day 4 of the European Q School Finals

Click here for the results of the final stage of the European Q School

Click here for stats from day four of the UK Q School finals

Click here for UK Q School finals results

Day four of the UK qualifying school finals

Ted Evetts 6-3 Mike Gillet
Josh Rock 6-4 Daniel Day
Nathan Rafferty 6-4 Shaun Wilkinson
Matthew Edgar 6-2 Diogo Portela

Josh Rock 6-4 Ted Evetts
Nathan Rafferty 6-3 Matthew Edgar

Josh Rock 6-3 Nathan Rafferty

Fourth day of the final phase of the European qualifying school

Krzysztof Kciuk 6-2 Christian Kist
Fabian Schmutzler 6-3 Ryan De Vreede
Dragutin Horvat 6-1 Radek Szaganski
Tony Martinez 6-2 Jimmy Hendriks

Krzysztof Kciuk 6-1 Fabian Schmutzler
Tony Martinez 6-5 Dragutin Horvat

Krzysztof Kciuk 6-3 Tony Martinez


About Author

Comments are closed.